Emanuel AMEC Prayer - World Day of Prayer USA

Emanuel AMEC Prayer

The World Day of Prayer USA Committee grieves for the loss of life and laments the violence suffered by the members of Mother Emanuel African Methodist Episcopal Church (AMEC) in Charleston, South Carolina on Wednesday, June 17 2015.

We offer our prayers on behalf of the victims – Sharonda Coleman-Singleton, Cynthia Hurd, Depayne Middleton Doctor, Susie Jackson, Ethel Lance, Clementa Pinckney, Tywanza Sanders, Daniel L. Simmons, and Myra Thompson – their families and friends who grieve their loss, and the city of Charleston.

As an organization of Christian women dedicated to the cultivation of peace and justice through prayer and action, we are committed to standing in solidarity with the members of Emanuel AMEC in resisting and challenging the laws, ideals and attitudes that support and promote a racist society. We urge people across the country to commit to prayer, self-reflection, and action in an effort to root out the scourge of racism that for too long has plagued our nation and continues to inflict violence upon its people. We urge the church in its many contexts and incarnations to lead the way in this effort: to unite as the body of Christ in the work of healing and reconciliation. We stand on the promise of God as written in Psalm 147 verse 3, “God heals the broken-hearted and binds up their wounds.” We pray with faith that God will restore the community of Charleston and communities like it.

Holy God, we pray this day for the people of Mother Emanuel African Methodist Episcopal Church, especially for the nine souls who died at the hands of hate and who now reside with you. We pray for their families and friends: for comfort in their grief and an awareness of your love. USA distance calculator We pray for our nation, and ask for your healing Spirit to work in our hearts, that we may be inspired to work to end the racist hatred that festers in our communities and continues to wound the body of Christ in the world.

World Day of Prayer USA Board:                                                                                     

Susan Jackson-Dowd, Chair

Roshin Abraham

Marilyn Pagán Banks

Marlene J. Chase

Inez Torres Davis

Romi Hall

Ruth Lindsay

Mary Martin

Shivonne McKay

Patricia Jones Penn

Susan Skoglund

Esther Stephen

Arvella Austin Strong

Julia Tulloch

Itang Young


Nellie Choi

Andrea Miskow

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>